March 21, 2023

Dakar mechanic dies on the last liaison of 2022 – Motorsport. com

Listen to this article

Quentin Lavallee, chief mechanic of the #726 Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 that the PH Sport team had managed to bring back in order to Dakar Classic, died from injuries sustained in a road accident 234km into the transport section.

The incident occurred at 11: 30 local time and, according to nearby authorities, involved the assistance car plus a local truck. The particular Frenchman was only 20 years old.

The team’s co-driver, Belgian Maxime Frere, has been taken to the National Guard Hospital in Jeddah for tests to determine the extent of his injuries. He initially reported abdominal and chest contusion.

The incident comes at the end of an edition that has been marked by the explosion of Sodicar Racing’s team support car on December 30 which injured both legs of driver Philippe Bourton and forced the organiser to reinforce the security associated with the camps.

The French and Saudi authorities are still conducting an investigation to look for the cause of the particular explosion.

“This morning in 11: thirty, on the assistance addition route, a good accident involving an help vehicle and a local truck, according in order to local police authorities, happened at kilometre 234, ” read an official statement from ASO.

“The car owner of the particular car belonging to the team PH Sport, Quentin Lavalee, of France, very sadly passed away in the accident. He was two decades of age. His passenger, the Belgian Maxime Frère, was hurt and has been transported to the Nationwide Guards Medical center in Jeddah.

“He had been conscious along with a full analysis is underway. He suffered an abdominal and chest contusion. Quentin was main mechanic on the 205 Turbocharged 16 racing in the particular Dakar Traditional (n°726). The particular Dakar offers its sincerest condolences in order to Quentin’s family, loved ones plus PH Sports activity. inch

Toyota’s Nasser Al-Attiyah claimed their fourth Dakar win in the cars category after beating Sebastien Loeb (Prodrive/Bahrain) to the top spot, while Sam Sunderland clinched the bikes crown for the KTM-owned GasGas team.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *